Author Topic: new tyranid player.  (Read 1007 times)

Offline zephyr789

• Neophyte
    • View Profile
new tyranid player.
« on: February 13, 2016, 12:34:16 AM »
so im very new to tyranids ( and 40k in general) and was wondering if i could get an opinion on my little list and maybe a few tips and suggestions.

HQ: Hive tyrant-wings,Bonesword/lashwhip,scything talons, adrenal glands, toxin sacs, old adversary.

troops:3x warriors- 1 barbed strangler. 10x termagants

fast attack: 10X Gargoyles.

i was planning on getting some venomethropes and a zoanthrope and then some more termagants and gargoyles.

Any help tips or suggestions would be very appreciated.

Online SharkoutofWata

• Chapter Master
    • View Profile
Re: new tyranid player.
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2016, 02:28:25 AM »
Flyrants do a lot better in the air then they do in the ground.  Being forced to wait a turn between switching flying modes and assaulting is a death sentence.  Nearly all Tyranid players will use a Flyrant with two sets of Twin Linked Devourers and an Electroshock Grub template.  This is what internet folk mean when they use the term 'Flyrant' because it's just that popular and just that good that any inferior builds are the ones that need to be specified.

Now, the Tyrant kit doesn't have Devs, so if you already built your beasty, don't worry about it.  Just make sure your opponent knows what your list is before a game.

Warriors are a pain.  Include them because you have nothing else, but really think about dropping them when you get the chance.  Good choice in keeping them cheap.  I'd add Deathspitters to the ones without a Strangler, just for that extra strength in then shooting.  But don't invest any more into Warriors.  I've found that if an army can kill the three you have, they'll kill five or even nine just as easily.  If they can't even kill five, they won't be able to kill the three you currently have.