Author Topic: Starting Tyranids  (Read 903 times)

Offline KBrown24

• Chapter Master of the Imperial Fists
  • Supporter
  • Battle Brother
    • View Profile
    • Silent Alliance Gaming
Starting Tyranids
« on: March 18, 2016, 08:05:16 PM »
Hey guys,

Im just getting started into Tyranids. Bought  boxs of termagaunts, hormagaunts, and genestealers. I am debating on getting the Codex(because of the rumors of a new codex), but other than more gaunts, what should I look at purchasing next?

Thanks

Online SharkoutofWata

• Chapter Master
    • View Profile
Re: Starting Tyranids
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2016, 02:52:04 AM »
I haven't heard rumors of a new codex yet, but I don't have my ear to the ground these days.  What's your source?  You need a codex to play the game, so either borrow one from some kind person or buy one if you've just heard 'Tyranids SHOULD have a new codex soon'.  Like I said, I'm a bit out of the know at the minute.

The advice for Nids doesn't change.  It hasn't since Leviathan, it won't till a new codex.  Flyrants, Mawlocs, Mucoloid Spores, Malanthrope/Venomthrope.  Spam S6 Devourers whenever possible.  Cry when Grav or Plasma wrecks you.  Cry when D wrecks you.  Take small bugs ONLY if you're using a metric poopton with the only MCs as Flyrants.  Avoid most of the codex.  It's the same generic advice you can find on any of the threads in this category.  Nids don't have many options these days.

Now, if you have a specific theme in mind that isn't ever going to see play against top tier lists and factions, we can work with that.  However, without a set path in mind and a lack of caring about competing, you will just get the same boring guideline.  Flyrants, Flyrants and another pair of Flyrants, all built exactly the same...  *Yawn*