Author Topic: 8th Edition Psycannon vs Psilencer vs Incinerator & GK Terminators vs PAGK's  (Read 1500 times)

Offline Mr. Sinji

• Brother Captain
  • I have been collecting and playing 40k since 1996
    • View Profile
New edition new rule set.

Our Psycannons are no longer Salvo because Salvo doesn't exist anymore, all of our guys can move, shoot and assault with Heavy weapons but with a -1 to BS and our Storm Bolters are now Rapid Fire 2. Our PAGK's get a save of 6+ vs Plasma and Lascannons. We can now deep strike on either Turn 1, 2 or 3 automatically and then charge without any scatter. Things are certainly looking different for our GK's now in 8th.

So as the title suggests where do we go from here?
First our standard weapons load out.

Psycannon vs Psilencer vs Incinerator

I would like to start with the Incinerator.
I am finding this weapon hard to use. It has a range of 8" and now after deep strike we need to be 9" away from enemy models which leaves us 1" short.

The Psycannon
Over the years I have seen GW do all kinds of things to this weapon. We now have a gun that is 24" S7 AP -1 & Heavy 4 so we have now completely lost Rending. It would have been nice to see something along the lines of a 6 to wound causes a mortal wound or even gives it AP -3 but no there is nothing.

The Psilencer
This is has always been the last option for GK's but now with the changes to Heavy Weapons it's not bad. Same stats as before but now you don't cast force to get Instant death it just straight up does D3 wounds which is the best Damage of any our basic infantry.

Terminators vs Strike Squads

Terminators took a massive rise in points but the gained an extra wound. I was finding in 7th my terminators died super easy and didn't really seem like something that struck fear into my opponents. I do feel they are better in 8th but they also cost more. The same load out I took in 7th now costs me an extra 66pts