Author Topic: Tips: Avoiding theft of your models and materials!  (Read 609 times)

Offline Alfalpharius

• Initiate
  • Adeptus Doritos
    • View Profile
Tips: Avoiding theft of your models and materials!
« on: September 15, 2016, 09:35:10 AM »
So, I'm by no means a 'veteran' player, but I've had some experience in the past.  I spent some time watching some videos, talking to some friends, and even doing some reading.  I figured that this sort of information was worth sharing with the gaming community.  I might not have much tactical or modeling advice, but I can at least help out this way.

Watch out for theft. 

I know this sounds like something that should get the response: "Well, duh!", but it's not as simple as it sounds.  Theft is a huge problem in a lot of collectable/competitive games.  Friends of mine have lost a lot of valuable gaming materials at conventions, tournaments, and gaming stores.  And I mean nearly a thousand dollars worth of materials can be swiped in a moment's notice. This is the kind of theft that would make Blood Ravens and Trazyn the Infinite gasp.

We all know our hobby is expensive.  And so do other people.  Some of the thieves don't even play, they're just out to snag something.  Maybe for profit, maybe 'for the lulz'.  We could debate all day about 'why', but that's not important.  We could even sit here and come to the conclusion that conventions and tournaments need additional security and how awful this is.  However, like Ben Franklin said: "An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure".  Once your stuff's been snagged, it's too late. 

Helpful tips:

-Scratch your initials under the baseplate of every model.  Don't paint it, this can be rubbed off. 

-Use a (reasonably) big box to carry your models, preferably one with a lock and distinguishing marks.

-Make a detailed inventory list of all the items that you bring, and check it before you leave.

-Put your casualties somewhere close that you can keep an eye on them.