Author Topic: Eldar- catapult mistake?  (Read 1462 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Starslayer

  • Neophyte
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Eldar- catapult mistake?
« on: April 30, 2017, 04:03:46 PM »
The regular Shuriken catapult is range 8/16 +1 at short. 
The "masterwork" avenger catapult has no mods but range 9/18.

Both Guardian Defenders (citizen soldiers) and Dire Avengers (Aspect warriors) are BS4.

So defenders shoot better than Dire Avengers at short range (8 inches or less)

Silly.

Offline Draco765

  • Battle Brother
  • *
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
Re: Eldar- catapult mistake?
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2017, 04:28:07 PM »
They both can buy and use either weapon.

One weapon gives them extra max range, the other lets them hit better at shorter range.

Offline Starslayer

  • Neophyte
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Eldar- catapult mistake?
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2017, 05:48:56 PM »
They both can buy and use either weapon.

One weapon gives them extra max range, the other lets them hit better at shorter range.

No they cant. Its right on the equipment list. The regular catapult can only be used by the Guardians and the avenger catapult can only be used by the Dire Avengers.
 Guardians are better shots at short range. Silly.  A 1 inch extra short range, 2 inch extra long range is hardly "masterwork".  An Aspect Warrior should be a better shot then a Guardian, and a master work weapon should actually be better.

Offline Draco765

  • Battle Brother
  • *
  • Posts: 173
    • View Profile
Re: Eldar- catapult mistake?
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2017, 08:42:20 AM »
Ah, yeah, different section...

But, nope, still not a problem. One gives up a little bit of range for a better chance at a close up shot.

You are just stumbling over the poor fluff writing. Not much can be done about that.

In the game, you will want to keep your Leader as far away as possible anyway, anything charging it will be putting a hurt on it.

Offline Starslayer

  • Neophyte
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Eldar- catapult mistake?
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2017, 12:54:21 PM »
The rule is stupid that a Guardian is a better shot than an Aspect warrior. Oh well, thats GW.
 I thought Defenders could have flamers & meltas? But that was years ago. So maybe its changed. Storm Guardians?
It seems the Eldar do not have many options.

The Eldar Rangers should be there!  Or even the Striking Scorpions.   :)   Let me dream.

Your Leader is the only one who can fight in combat. WS5 2 attacks base + 1 for 2 weapons / glaive(S5) & pistol and he will kick some butt.
« Last Edit: May 01, 2017, 01:10:11 PM by Starslayer »

Online SharkoutofWata

  • Chapter Master
  • *
  • Posts: 720
    • View Profile
Re: Eldar- catapult mistake?
« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2017, 04:49:46 PM »
There's more than a couple of foul ups in the Shadow War armies.  Raveners in the Tyranid side have only one wound, on a creature that has always been the combat equivalent of a Warrior...  It's not the first red flag and it won't be the last.  Should send GW an email, see if this was intentional or not, but frankly, unless there's an FAQ, you just have to live with the rules as printed because no one will accept some uncomfirmable email as a rules source outside of casual games.