Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Topics - Morollan

Pages: [1]
Discussion: Chaos Space Marines / Khorne Lord of Skulls
« on: November 16, 2017, 05:48:07 AM »
Anyone used one in 8e yet? Are they worth the points?

Discussion: Eldar / Eldar Insights 7th Edition - #Aspect Hosts
« on: August 26, 2015, 10:29:20 AM »
Aspect Host

This is my first attempt at an Insights article. Hopefully it will be of some interest.

What is the Aspect Host? Well, as the name implies, itís a host of Aspect Warriors; three units to be precise. Each unit must contain an Exarch and you can take units in any combination, ie three of the same aspect, all different aspects, two of one and one of another etc. It does not include Crimson Hunters but all other aspects can be taken. Sadly, having checked with Forge World and GW, it does not include Shadow Spectres  :(


Rites of Battle Ė You can choose either +1BS or +1WS and this applies to all units in the formation (including dedicated transports) for the entire battle. BS5 is of course golden given that the ranged aspects carry some pretty fearsome weaponry, including Fusion Guns, Reaper Launchers, Death Spinners etc. Remember that the Exarch will be at BS6 which gives him a reroll (of 6) if he rolls a 1 to hit. WS5 is not too shabby either. It will rarely affect your chances of being hit but will usually boost your chance to hit by 1/6.

Shrinekeepers - Reroll failed Morale, Pinning and Fear tests. 'Nuff said.


As all units must have the same buff, you will want to ensure that you pick units that will benefit from that buff. Itís probably not a good idea to mix say, melee aspects with ranged aspects as youíll be wasting the benefit on some of the units. Thereís nothing to stop you taking two Aspect Hosts though, one for melee and one for ranged.

Iím not going to go into details on each individual aspect as we already have a number of excellent Insight articles on many of them. I would direct all readers to those articles, which almost certainly contain more wisdom than I can impart.

Wave Serpents?
The question of whether to take Dedicated Transport(s) really comes down to personal taste. If you intend to take Wave Serpents anyway then this is a good place to take them. A BS5 Wave Serpent is nothing to sneeze at!  If you donít intend to start a unit inside the Serpent then thereís no real drawback to taking them from this formation.

Note that Swooping Hawks, Warp Spiders and Shining Spears cannot take Wave Serpents.


An automatic 6" run is nice to have but it will of course depend on what units you have taken. Dark Reapers and Shining Spears cannot run so it is wasted on them.  Melee aspects may find it useful, especially Banshees, but the inability to assault after running does limit its usefulness in many cases. Fire Dragons particularly love this ability as it gives them effectively an 18Ē melta range.

Final Thoughts

This formation is an excellent way of fielding Aspect Warriors with Eldar units from other formations or detachments and giving them some pretty useful buffs at no extra cost and with very little tax (if you consider an Exarch to be a tax at all). It can also be dropped into any other army as a standalone formation. Iíve frequently taken one in my Dark Eldar and Freakshow (50 Shades of Eldar) lists and theyíve always done well for me.

Discussion: Eldar / Warp Hunter
« on: June 12, 2015, 04:13:44 AM »
Friend of mine just e-mailed Forge World to see if they could clarify the rules for the Warp Hunter's D-Flail weapon. This was the reply:

Thanks for your email. Normally we would give you a standard reply but in this case we have an "official" by means of us telling you in this email that the distort rule does not exist and is instead replaced with D - Destroyer class weaponry,

All other rules are as is and the only change is D Destroyer in the weapon profile.

Thanks again and now go forth brother webwalker and destroy thy foe with your ferocious might!

So that's a 36", Heavy 3, Barrage, D weapon! Only drawback is that it's AP3 but against vehicles... :o

40K Rules Questions / New FAQs
« on: February 10, 2015, 05:51:06 AM »
New FAQs are up:

Main rulebook, DE, Orks and Space Wolves get some minor changes. Big one is that ICs and Infiltrate finally got sorted (they cannot join a unit before deployment).

40K Rules Questions / Be'Lakor and The Black Legion
« on: March 14, 2014, 12:11:47 PM »
What are people's thoughts on using Be'Lakor as an HQ in a Black Legion detachment?

Codex: Black Legion says:

A Black Legion army is chosen using the army list presented in Codex: Chaos Space Marines

The Be'Lakor Dataslate says:

Beílakor is an Army List Entry that can be selected as an HQ choice in a detachment chosen from either Codex: Chaos Daemons or Codex: Chaos Space Marines

So could I take Be'Lakor as my HQ and still pick the rest of my detachment from Codex: Black Legion? I think I could but just wanted to see what anyone else's thoughts are.

Pages: [1]