Author Topic: Spore pods  (Read 1465 times)

Offline Lublek2

• Battle Brother
    • View Profile
Spore pods
« on: July 07, 2013, 06:48:40 PM »
So I am new to the nids, I played a lot of tau in 5th and battled nids to medium success. now that tau is broken! and my Eldar army is pretty much the same I have decided to go with a much harder army to play in 6th ed.

On paper the spore pods look awesome, you can give them barbed stranglers so they shoot big pie plates and have an ok chance of hitting/killing something especially since tau likes to be bunched together for the supporting fire rule.
my other 2 ideas are venom cannons or cluster spines. since the pods BS is so low i figured shooting blasts is much better.

I have watched Fritz 40K vids on tyranid tactics and he suggests not putting weapons on them and I think they would be a great asset with weapons. they would help my army move up the bored because they would become a very big problem if left alone.

any advice would be appreciated :)

Offline mattblowers

• Brother Captain
    • View Profile
    • My Gaming Blog
Re: Spore pods
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2013, 07:52:46 PM »
Two problems:
1.  BS 2
2.  They have to shoot at the closest enemy unit.  Anyone who has ever faced one will use this to their advantage. 

Use the basic load out.  They are meant as a delivery system.  They also block LOS nicely to combat the new Tau gun lines and such.  Other than that, I don't like them so much.
Famous last words: "All I have to do is not roll ones...."

Check out my painting blog at http://lilliputianwars.blogspot.com/

Offline Lublek2

• Battle Brother
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2013, 08:06:35 PM »
bs 2 just means you will scatter a little more than normal. id only use blasts, it might scatter and hit a better units???? but it seems the nids all the ways to kill units they can muster.